Now Download . Com – Yes folks searching for this. It is a SCAM!

scam A brief post tonight, not highly relevant to ISV’s.

For those people searching – 200 of you over the last three days – for information on NowDownload this post is for you.

Yes.  NowDownload is a scam.  That is why it’s disappeared off the Internet.  The registrar for the domain name is GoDaddy.  The owner is a Pablo Soto.  The address listed for him – if real – is:

Ave Mediterraneo 24
Madrid 28007
Spain

If you’ve paid for this service I’m afraid you’ve been had.  I doubt you’ll be getting your money back, though I do wish you well.

People – please keep in mind.  If something in life seems to good to be true it invariably is a scam.  A service like NowDownload offered low cost “legal” access to virtually unlimited music, movies and software for a low, low price.

NOBODY is able to offer such a service.  NOBODY offers such a service legally in reality.

On the Internet, it is usually safest to buy from the original creator of software, or a well known recognized service, when it comes to music and videos such as iTunes.  Attempting to buy “unlimited access” results in you being scammed, the creator of the software, music or video being scammed – and organized crime, along with disorganized crime – profiting from your silly mistake.

Sad, but true.

UPDATED 5 th Sept 2009.    It’s been brought to my attention that some people may be confusing “NowDownload” with a perfectly legitimate site “Download.com” in this article.  This is unfortunate as the trademark of the genuine “Download.com” owned and operated by “CNET”   have no connection with “NowDownload”.  Clearly the owner of “NowDownload” intended the confusion when he chose the domain name.

Scott Kane

This entry was posted in Download Sites Are Spam, Starting an mISV, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

5 Comments

  1. Posted September 2, 2009 at 3:39 pm | Permalink

    Scott, it’s not clear – did you discovered those 200 searches in referrer strings in your web site access logs, in internal search statistics of your blog, or else?

  2. Posted September 2, 2009 at 3:43 pm | Permalink

    Hi Dennis,

    Incoming to this blog from Google. A variety of TLD’s looking.

  3. Dan Hite
    Posted September 5, 2009 at 1:33 am | Permalink

    Scott,

    Your title “Now Download . Com – Yes folks searching for this. It is a SCAM!” can easily be misread to be stating that Download.com is a scam. That was my first thought when I read it. I thought you were saying something like “Now Download.com is a scam if it wasn’t before”. Download.com is one of the download sites that I would hope you don’t have a beef with.

    Dan

  4. Scott Kane
    Posted September 5, 2009 at 11:06 am | Permalink

    Hi Dan,

    Yes, I can see how that would confuse some. I added something to the text to draw attention to this. Thank you for the heads up.

  5. Posted February 17, 2010 at 3:49 pm | Permalink

    Hey I just wanted to let you know, I actually like the composition on your website. But I am using Firefox on a machine running version 8.x of Crashbang Ubuntu and the design aren’t quite satisfying. Not a serious deal, I can still essentially read the articles and look for for info, but just wanted to inform you about that. The navigation bar is kind of difficult to use with the config I’m running. Keep up the good work!

One Trackback

  1. By Isabella on February 8, 2010 at 10:36 pm

    I lost money on this. Wish I’d found this before they got my money.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *

*
*

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>